The railway station was built in the 19th century. It was badly damaged during World War II. The current building was designed by architect Bogoyavlensky and erected in 1950. The locomotive of an EL-2500 armoured train, which was part of the city defence in 1941-1942, is installed on the square in front of the main station building. Today there are ticket offices, left luggage service, a hotel, two waiting rooms, a kiosk with press and snacks, a first aid office, ATMs, a canteen and a police office. Mobile phones and laptops can be recharged at the service centre.