The monastery was founded in 1856. According to legend, holy brothers Cosmas and Damian lived there in the Middle Ages, treating people for many diseases. When they died a sacred spring emerged in the mountains. The monastery was shut down in the 1920s. Its restoration started in 1994. The monastery has the Jerusalem Mother of God icon and the icon of Sts Cosmas and Damian with particles of their relics. Visits to the monastery are limited because it is located on the reserve's territory.