The ruins of the ancient Greek city date back to the 7th century BC and are located in the city centre on the slope of Mount Mithridat. In 480 BC the city became the capital of the Bosporan Kingdom. It is one of the most famous architectural landmarks in Crimea. In 1826, the ruins were given the status of a museum of antiquity. All items found there are currently on display in museums in Kerch, Moscow and St Petersburg.