The underground stone quarry in Kerch produced shell limestone. Between May and October 1942, some of the Crimean Front troops fought the Nazis there. Some 10,000 people hid in the quarry, including locals. In November 1943, the area was liberated by the 56th Army. In 1966, a museum was established there. In 1982, a memorial to the heroes of the Adzhimushkai quarry was unveiled.