One of Crimea's largest and oldest stone quarries, it was first mentioned in 93 BC. By the beginning of the 20th century, the length of the quarry was 30 kilometres, and its depth was 100 metres. During World War II, the quarry served as a shelter for civilians and hosted hospitals, underground schools and a special unit #2, which produced and stored ammunition. An explosion killed thousands of people in 1942. The quarry can only be seen from outside; it is closed to visitors because it is not safe.