The museum building resembles an Oriental palace. It was built in 1912 by merchant Yuduf Gelelovich in a pseudo-Moorish style. The building was used to house the Antiquities Museum, which opened in 1921 to be transformed into the Local History Museum in 1933. The museum's permanent exhibition, Mosaics of Ancient Cultures, features decorative and applied arts items from Antiquity to the Middle Ages and modern times. Outside the museum are an exhibition of stone idols and an excavation site covered with a glass pyramid.