The construction of the church began in 1817 at the site of a destroyed 17th century church. In 1984, the church received architectural landmark status. It opened after restoration in June 2012. The church was built as a basilica of smooth-hewn white limestone blocks while its domes resemble old Armenian churches. A relief of a cross — an indispensable feature of Armenian church architecture — has survived on the church's east wall.