The fountain was built in the early 19th century near the Sungu-Suv healing spring at the foot of Demerdzhi Mountain. The funding for the construction of the fountain was provided by the son of Turkish officer Ismail Aga, who was killed in a battle with Russian troops. In 1830, it became widely known as the Kutuzov Fountain. According to legend, the water in the spring close to which the memorial was built had saved the life of the wounded Mikhail Kutuzov. It was here that during the Russo-Turkish war the future great military commander lost his eye.
The fountain is located on the Simferopol-Alushta Motorway before the turn to the village of Luchistoye.